Commonwealth Match

The Trophy

The Commonwealth Trophy was presented to the Dominion of Canada Rifle Association by The Canadian Pacific Railway Company for annual competition between Empire Teams in 1931.

It is a Sheffield Sterling Bowl with two handles and a prone figure of a marksman mounted on the stem base. The bowl is mounted on a three tier black wooden base upon which the names of winning teams are recorded on small silver shields. Hallmarked M & W, the crown, Lion Passant and year of manufacture symbol. The bowl is 215 mm in height, 420 mm across the handles, 286 mm in diameter at the top and 193 mm in diameter at the base of the stem; the three tier wooden base is not shown in the photo.

The History

In 1931 Great Britain sent a rifle team to Canada under command of Sir Lionel Fletcher, CBE, to compete against Canada's best marksmen at the Annual Prize Meeting of the DCRA. Prior to that year, no international team matches were included in the regular schedule of events. It was considered fitting that a long range event following the traditional conditions of "The Mackinnon" at Bisley be introduced. The conditions called for Teams of 12 marksmen each firing 2 sighting shots and 10 shots for record at each of 900 and 1000 yards within a specified time limit. The match was Titled "The Empire Match" and with the assistance and generosity of The Canadian Pacific Railways Company, the Empire Trophy was placed in competition.

While the general conditions of "The Empire Match" have continued through the years, it was renamed "The Commonwealth Match" following World War II and is currently fired at 800 and 900 meters.

Match Conditions

The Commonwealth Match is always shot in Canada, by a team of 12 firers. Each shooter fires 2 sighters and 10 shots to count at 800m and 900m. The highest individual score is 100 with 17 v-bulls by David Luckman (Great Britain) in 2007 and Parag Patel (Great Britian) in 2002.  The Great Britain Team from 2002 hold the record score of 1189 and 140 v-bulls (Captain: John Bloomfield).

Previous Winners

1931 Canada 1975 Great Britain 1994 Canada
1937 Australia 1976 Australia 1995 England
1950 Great Britain 1977 Great Britain 1996 Canada
1952 Great Britain 1978 Great Britain 1997 Canada
1954 Canada 1979 Canada 1998 Great Britain
1956 Canada 1980 Great Britain 1999 Canada
1958 Canada 1981 Great Britain 2000 Canada
1960 New Zealand 1982 Australia 2001 Canada
1962 Great Britain 1983 Canada 2002 Great Britain
1964 Great Britain 1984 Great Britain 2003 Canada
1966 Canada 1985 Canada 2004 Great Britain
1967 New Zealand 1986 Great Britain 2005 Canada
1968 Great Britain 1987 Australia 2006 Great Britain
1969 Canada 1988 Canada 2007 Great Britain
1970 Great Britain 1989 Great Britain 2010 Great Britain
1971 Canada 1990 Canada 2011 Canada
1972 Great Britain 1991 Great Britain 2012 Great Britain
1973 Canada 1992 Great Britain    
1974 Great Britain 1993 Canada    

Match results listed are those where a GB or Home Countries team were present.